It’s my blog’s first anniversary today!

Before I begin this post, I want to thank my parents, my family, my friends and everyone who has read my articles. I am very grateful for all the encouragement, feedback and constructive criticism I have received. What started as a timid step outside my comfort zone, a decision to dare to express myself on a wide platform rather than simply on the last pages of notebooks, has now become an integral part of my life! It’s been an amazing journey and will continue to be so for many more years to come!


Habits

A New Year comes. We welcome it by partying with friends and family on the 31st, posting statuses on social networking sites, sending and receiving messages on various chat apps (often getting the same message from at least three different sources!), and finally, on the 1st, making resolutions. As to whether or not these brave attempts at bringing about change and doing some good are carried through with perseverance is a matter of confidentiality. But we do find ourselves forming some new habits or changing some old habits, at least for some time, as a result of this awakening of the soul!

One of the first mistakes we make in the New Year is:

3/1/2014 2015

So that becomes the first habit that we have to form – writing the correct year! I have been making a resolution every year to be mindful and to write the date correctly from January 1 itself, but every single year it takes me at least three days to get round to it!

The next habit that I’ve found most people trying to form is to hit the “Off” button instead of the “Snooze” button, and to throw off the blankets, draw the curtains aside and jump out of bed, rather than turning over onto the other side and pulling the blanket further up and snuggling comfortably! I am not going to comment on how long this habit lasts. Let’s just say that on a cold January morning the bed feels really inviting! And we have only one life to enjoy after all! 😀

With the advent of technology, the mobile phone has become man’s friend and constant companion. So much so that we find ourselves feeling vulnerable on the extremely rare occasions when we forget to carry it with us. One of the most persistent habits that get formed as a result of this strong bond is to unlock the screen, gaze at the wallpaper for two seconds and lock it again, only to repeat the ritual after another five minutes. When asked as to what the point behind doing this is, the answer is either a vacant shrug or, “I thought I got a message.” That’s the other persistent habit: having hallucinations. I remember keeping my phone switched off, at a distance of ten feet from my table when I was studying for my exams, and yet thinking at least five times that the phone had rung and that the notification light had blinked!

As anyone who’s in buzzing WhatsApp groups knows, 99% of the times the messages you receive are pure nonsense. As the novelty of the group begins to fade, we find ourselves taking one look at the messages and going offline without reading them. But does the habit of checking the phone continuously go away? Again, I refrain from commenting. Perhaps changing the wallpaper to something hideous and setting one’s least favourite song as the notification tune might help…

One of the direct results of this fast life wherein almost everything is at your fingertips is that people have started lacking patience. As anyone who has had to wait for a reply to a message, or for a webpage to load on a slow internet connection, or for a 20 MB video clip to download onto your mobile phone when you can’t use WiFi knows, nearly half the calories we burn are sacrificed to this frustrating activity. It’s not like the world would end if we don’t get what we want right now, is it? Yet we find ourselves losing our temper and allowing our blood to boil over something futile. I too am no different, so I hardly have the right to comment on this. All I can say is, our ancestors lived in an age when there was no internet, no mobile phones, no ‘easy’ life, but they survived, and lived much more meaningful and peaceful lives than we did. It’s high time we asked ourselves whether an unanswered message is more important than an unlived life!

As I mentioned before, resolutions are a matter of confidentiality because if they are disclosed, they end up becoming a matter of embarrassment, especially among close friends! So I respect the wish to keep them under lock and key. But if anyone has any good suggestions for forming worthy habits and changing unworthy ones, they would be most welcome!

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year and a Prosperous Life ahead! 🙂

